VMPC2000XL Specific Settings

In this section we will discuss settings that can’t be found on the real MPC2000XL. To access these settings, press Shift + 0.

The SETNGS tab

Initial pad mapping

The way all MPCs work is that each pad can be assigned a MIDI note number, and a note number can b assigned a sound, envelope settings and more. For a pad to play a sound, a MIDI note has to be assigned to it. This information is stored in programs and their associated PGM files.

When a new program is created on the MPC2000XL, its default MIDI note mapping is pretty confusing. See https://www.mpc2000xl.com/pads.htm.

There are rumours this mapping stems from General MIDI.

Whatever its origins, it causes confusion the moment you connect a MIDI keyboard or pad controller to the real MPC2000XL. In this scenario, a typical expectation is that adjacent keys or pads on the connected MIDI device trigger adjacent pads on the MPC2000XL. Instead, pad 1 is triggered by note 37, pad 2 by note 36, pad 3 by note 42, pad 4 by note 82, etc.

VMPC2000XL defaults to a chromatic mapping: 37, 38, 39, 40 … 95, 96, 97, 98 for pads 1, 2, 3, 4 … 61, 62, 63, 64. You can verify this is the initial pad mapping in the SETNGS tab. The Initial pad mapping field should be set to VMPC2000XL like below:

_images/initial_pad_mapping.png

To get the original pad mapping, set Initial pad mapping to ORIGINAL.

Note

Changes to this field are only applied to programs created after the change.

16 levels erase mode

When 16 levels is enabled (see the green LED below 16 LEVELS in the top-right), the sequencer is running and the user holds the ERASE button and any of the pads, the real MPC2000XL will erase all recorded note events that match the note that you set in the Assign 16 levels window.

If this is what you want, leave the 16 levels erase mode field at its default setting: All levels.

If you only want to erase note events that match the level of the pad you’re pressing, set this field to Only pressed level like below:

_images/16_levels_erase_mode.png

Configuring the Keyboard in the KEYBRD tab

After pressing Shift + 0, press F2 to go to the KEYBRD tab.

If you can’t use the keyboard as expected, you can also click the keyboard icon in the far top-right.

_images/keyboard_tab.png

Once you are in the KEYBRD tab, VMPC2000XL internally switches to a restricted keyboard input mode that ignores any keyboard configuration you may have. The only keys that work in this tab are:

  • Up
  • Down
  • F1 … F6

You can also use the mouse to interact with the Up/Down cursors and F1 … F6 buttons in the UI as usual.

Changing a mapping

Use up and down to scroll through the list of functions. To change one of the mappings, highlight the mapping and press F4. The UI will change to indicate learn mode is active. Some elements start blinking to indicate VMPC2000XL is awaiting your keypress:

_images/keyboard_tab_learn.gif

As long as the elements are blinking and you see CANCEL and ACCEPT, you can press another key that you wish to assign to the selected function.

To accept your new key you have to use the mouse or touchpad and click F4! To cancel the learning process, use the mouse or touchpad and click F3.

Reset mapping to default

To go back to the original mapping that is based on the US keyboard layout, press F5:

_images/reset_keyboard_mapping.png

Saving mapping changes

Press F6 to save your changes. A popup will appear saying “Keyboard mapping saved”. You can return to the Main screen by pressing Esc and continue normal operation.

If your configuration is the same as what it was, a popup will appear saying “Keyboard mapping unchanged”:

_images/keyboard_mapping_unchanged.png

Discard mapping changes

To discard the changes you made in the KEYBRD screen, press Esc or click the MAIN SCREEN button. If you actually have unsaved changes, the following window appears:

_images/discard_mapping_changes.png

Besides discarding your changes, you can choose to stay in the KEYBRD screen and continue making changes, or you can save your changes, after which you’ll go to the Main screen.

Configuring auto-save in the AUTSAV tab

Though auto-save also happens when running VMPC2000XL as a plugin, these settings only affect behaviour of the standalone version.

The following aspects are part of the state that is saved and loaded as part of this feature in both standalone and plugin versions of VMPC2000XL:

  • All programs and sounds
  • All sequences
  • Current screen
  • Current focus in that screen
  • Current sound (in TRIM, LOOP, etc.)
  • Current directory (in LOAD and SAVE)

Warning

Since all sounds are stored in your DAW project files, be aware of their combined size. If you have 32MB of sounds in memory, your project file will become 32MB bigger.

You can choose to auto-save upon exit and auto-load upon start. Both operations can be in 3 states:

  • Disabled
  • Ask
  • Enabled

The default configuration is like this:

_images/default_autosave_configuration.png

When Auto-save on exit is set to Ask, you will be asked whether to save your session or don’t save (in which case it will be deleted permanently):

_images/autosave_this_session.png

When it’s set to Disabled, your sessions will never be auto-saved upon exiting VMPC2000XL. Likewise, when it’s set to Enabled your sessions will be silently auto-saved when you exit, overwriting your previous auto-save.

A similar logic applies to the Auto-load on start setting. When it’s set to Ask, the following dialog appears upon startup if an auto-saved session is detected:

_images/continue_previous_session.png

When it’s set to Disabled, your sessions will never be auto-saved when you exit. When it’s set to Enabled your sessions will be silently restored when you open VMPC2000XL.